Skip to content

the season’s first garden bounty

August 5, 2009

A mere 3 years ago food was food was food to me.  Sure, I had a palate thirsty for high gravity brew, pizza slices the size of Prisus (is it Prii?), and the like, but that’s about it.  Editor’s note:  some of that hasn’t changed.  At the time the source, destination of, and overall impact of food were certainly not concerns, nor did I even dare think about how these ‘variables’ impacted the taste and quality of said item(s).

Fast forward to the present:  I’m smarter, sharper, and of course better looking.  Added together, I’m certainly more aware of all aspects of my food, which is why I started my (organic) urban garden, Hoboken style.  The fruits of my labor, literally speaking, are finally blooming away in spite of the coolest and rainiest summer on record:  the tomatoes taste like no supermarket tomato I’ve ever had (and that’s a good thing), the basil actually has flavor and isn’t lifeless, and the chili peppers are fresh, pungent, and spiced.  Below are just a few of the veggies growing out back.  Cheers.

Garden fruit

Garden bounty

Close up.

Close up.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 6, 2009 12:23 pm

    Hello,

    We bumped into your blog and we really liked it – great recipes YUM YUM.
    We would like to add it to the Petitchef.com.

    We would be delighted if you could add your blog to Petitchef so that our users can, as us,
    enjoy your recipes.

    Petitchef is a french based Cooking recipes Portal. Several hundred Blogs are already members
    and benefit from their exposure on Petitchef.com.

    To add your site to the Petitchef family you can use http://en.petitchef.com/?obj=front&action=site_ajout_form or just go to Petitchef.com and click on “Add your site”

    Best regards,

    Vincent
    petitchef.com

  2. August 6, 2009 3:30 pm

    Nice, getting a garden up myself! Holla!

  3. mriley08 permalink
    August 9, 2009 11:41 am

    Growing your own vegetable garden is such a joy! When I lived in Michigan, I had a 1/2 acre garden of everything from tomatoes to pumpkins. It was wonderful. Two years ago, I moved down to North Carolina and had to start over. While I don’t have enough room for a 1/2 acre garden, I built a few boxes for vegetables Our dirt here is…well…it’s sand. LOL So, I had to buy manure and soil I didn’t have enough money for all the dirt I needed so I did what I could. Not as good of a bounty as I had hoped this year, but I know it will be even bette nex year when I can add more dirt.

    Good luck with your garden! And if you are more aware now of what you are eating, perhaps you would be interested in my blog.

    Meghan
    http://setforlifemax.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

