Skip to content

mystery pepper -name that chili

July 22, 2009

Apparently the ‘jalapeno’ pepper plants in my garden, 4 in total, sold to me at the usually reliable local vegetable stand a couple of months ago are not jalapenos -see below pics.  Initially disappointed considering just how prolific these plants are (one is so weighed down by fruit that I had to support it with a tomato cage), I guess I can’t complain considering my garden now has more variety and stuff to play around with.  On a side note, I luckily planted from seed 4 REAL jalapeno plants, so no big loss.

Trying to unearth just what these mystery pepper are, I did some digging and *believe* they are cubanelles, but I could be wrong (NOTE:  if they are cubanelles this one was picked prematurely and obviously had some more growing to do).  Tastewise, it ain’t hot (granted it takes a lot for me to think something has a kick…), nor is it sweet:  if anything it tastes like a pepper/pea hybrid.

So, the $10,000 question:  anyone out there know what they are?  Also, if they are cubanelle what do you recommend I do/cook with them? Advice is certainly appreciated!

Name that Pepper

Name that Pepper

Mystery Pepper

Mystery Pepper

Pepper Bumps

Pepper Bumps

Cut pepper

3 Comments leave one →
  1. dougie fresh permalink
    July 22, 2009 7:10 pm

    bad luck. but on the whole its more fun to not know, right.
    cubanelle’s are generally known as italian frying peppers. so make some sausage and peppers. head over to fiore’s for the sausage and then over to the antique bakery for bread. invite me over, i will bring the grana padano along with some peroni. we’ll feast and then you can post it here.

  2. edbstratt permalink*
    July 22, 2009 7:31 pm

    You had me hooked at Fiore’s, my attention at Antique, and my undivided attention at Peroni. Once these puppies mature it’s on.

  3. mark permalink
    July 23, 2009 8:48 am

    if it aint black peppaww, I don’t care

Leave a Reply

